Joy of the Pen News

All of the work is now with the judges for review with a deadline of November 14. We will announce the winners soon after. Thank you to all that entered this year!

After careful consideration and discussion, and a review of online awards, the library has decided that we will postpone the Joy of the Pen reception until the summer. What we envision is an outside celebration, possibly a tea party, that will celebrate the winners of all our joys this year: Joy of Art, Joy of the Lens and Joy of the Pen. Of course, you are all invited! We hope it will give us all something to look forward to throughout the winter months.


Thank you to everyone who came to the reception on Saturday and made it such a wonderful event. My special thanks to:

Everyone who entered the competition.

Charles Crosby and the Cryer for sponsoring our named awards and speaking at the reception.

Nancy Randolph and Just Write Books for sponsoring the Maine Nonfiction Award.

Our judges this year: Dana Cary, Laufey, John Leggett, Nancy Randolph and Diane Waterhouse.

The Friends of the Public Library, especially Melissa Hoy, Mathea Hoy and Ruth Mlotek for their help.

The staff at Topsham Public Library.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Winners have been notified. Reception is next week!

Thank you so much to all entrants for entering the Joy of the Pen this year. Our judges have given their decision and all of the winners and honorable mentions have been contacted. If you are one of those winners, congratulations! If you are not then we are extremely thankful for you taking part. I would like to invite everyone to come and hang out with us on Saturday, November 17th at 1pm for the reception.